Monographs

Die Realität des Risiko

„Über den vernünftigen Umgang mit Gefahren“

Julian Nida-Ruemelin

PER UN NUOVO UMANESIMO COSMOPOLITICO

"Humanism" is a concept steeped in history whose roots are to be sought in the Renaissance period of flourishing of the arts. Those who call themselves humanist thinkers believe that at the center of philosophical interests should be the understanding and cultivation of human dignity.

Eine Theorie praktischer Vernunft

The burden of proof is on those who argue a thesis that is difficult to reconcile with lifeworld beliefs.

 

Die gefährdete Rationalität der Demokratie

The debates about populism are dominated by concerns about the brutalization of the tone and the shifting of the boundaries of what can be said. Overlooked are the dangers posed by the creeping erosion of democratic institutions. Julian Nida-Rümelin analyzes the situation and offers guidance for a consolidated political practice.

Structural Rationality and other Essays

In this book, the author shows that it is necessary to enrich the conceptual frame of the theory of rational choice beyond consequentialism. He argues that consequentialism as a general theory of rational action fails and that this does not force us into the dichotomy teleology vs deontology.

Digitaler Humanismus

Autonomous individual transport and care robots, software-controlled customer correspondence and social media, Big Data economics and Clever Bots, Industry 4.0: digitization has enormous economic, but also cultural and ethical effects. Bridging the gap between philosophy and science fiction, this book develops the philosophical foundations of a Digital Humanism, for which the distinction between human thought, feeling and action on the one hand and software-controlled, algorithmic processes on the other is central. An alternative to Silicon Valley ideology, for which artificial intelligence threatens to become a substitute for religion.

Unaufgeregter Realismus

The widespread contemporary anti-realism in the humanities, cultural studies and social sciences, in cultural institutions, in the feuilletons and in educated circles is an expression of an intellectual crisis. The realism for which Julian Nida-Rümelin pleads opposes intellectual confusions that show themselves as accompanying phenomena of this intellectual crisis.

Über Grenzen denken

Over two billion people worldwide live in abject poverty, suffering from hopelessness, hunger, oppression and war. More than 65 million of them were refugees last year alone, and many people around the world are hoping for a better life in Europe or North America. So help is urgently needed - but are open borders the right answer to the misery in the world?

Humanistische Reflexionen

Even if a nation's economic practices had no influence on the living conditions of distant groups of people - which is probably true only in the rarest of cases today - there is not only the individual, but also the political and moral obligation to support people on the basis of equal respect when they are in danger of starving, for example.

Die Optimierungsfalle

Is a sustainable and humane economy mere utopia? Is there an alternative to crisis-prone financial capitalism?

Julian Nida-Rümelin, one of the leading philosophers of our time, astutely and constructively criticizes our ailing economic system. He conveys the philosophical basis of a humane economy in a way that is true to life and easy to understand. In doing so, he exposes the irrationality of an irresponsible economic order that is purely concerned with optimization.

Philosophie humaner Bildung

The German education crisis is not only one of institutions, it is primarily one of ideas. Everywhere, only the symptoms are being treated, with the well-known consequences: Everyone involved is overwhelmed, the teachers, the parents, the children anyway, even the politicians. The cardinal error is that the current educational reforms lack a cultural guiding idea. "Employability" is the order of the day instead. But an education that only ever wants to make people "fit for" something, that does not ask about their interests and talents, will not even bring the dreamed-of market success. "Philosophy of a Humane Education" provides the impetus for a new social understanding of what education means: for us, for our future, our image of man.

Der Sokrates Club

An orientation for parents, grandparents, teachers who want to philosophize with children Like all parents of bright children, de authors have been repeatedly confronted with philosophical questions, for example: What is just or what does it mean to know something?

Risikoethik

The rational management of action situations with uncertain consequences is a ubiquitous topic in modern societies. Starting from a critique of the prevailing paradigms in dealing with risk, this volume develops a risk ethics that also takes into account individual rights and justice. This is done on the basis of a clear conceptual analysis as well as by drawing on insights from modern decision theory. In addition, the political relevance of this risk-ethical conception is explained by means of a contract-theoretical concretization.

Der Akademisierungswahn

German education policy is on the wrong track: vocational training is being neglected. In turn, academic education is becoming increasingly arbitrary and shallow. Recognition of and respect for the dual education system, which is the envy of Germany throughout the world, are dwindling more and more. With clear words and unambiguous facts, Julian Nida-Rümelin shows how dangerous the current trend toward academization is, which will ultimately damage both vocational and academic education.

Kritik des Konsequentialismus

Sensibly, one does what has the best consequences. This seemingly trivial correct thesis is wrong. Why it is wrong is shown in this book.

Trilogie über Rationalität, Freiheit und Verantwortung

English

Monographien

PER UN NUOVO UMANESIMO COSMOPOLITICO

„Umanesimo” è un concetto carico di storia le cui radici vanno cercate nel periodo rinascimentale di fioritura delle arti. Coloro che si definiscono pensatori umanisti ritengono che al centro degli interessi filosofici debba esservi la comprensione e la coltivazione della dignità umana.

Eine Theorie praktischer Vernunft

Die Beweislast tragen die, die eine These vertreten, die mit lebensweltlichen Überzeugungen schwer in Einklang zu bringen sind.

 

Die gefährdete Rationalität der Demokratie

In den Debatten um den Populismus dominiert die Sorge um die Verrohung des Tons und die Verschiebung der Grenzen des Sagbaren. Übersehen werden dabei die Gefahren durch die schleichende Aushöhlung der demokratischen Institutionen. Julian Nida-Rümelin analysiert die Lage und bietet Orientierung für eine gefestigte politische Praxis.

Structural Rationality and other Essays

In this book, the author shows that it is necessary to enrich the conceptual frame of the theory of rational choice beyond consequentialism. He argues that consequentialism as a general theory of rational action fails and that this does not force us into the dichotomy teleology vs deontology.

Digitaler Humanismus

Autonomer Individualverkehr und Pflege-Roboter, softwaregesteuerte Kundenkorrespondenz und Social Media, Big-Data-Ökonomie und Clever-Bots, Industrie 4.0: Die Digitalisierung hat gewaltige ökonomische, aber auch kulturelle und ethische Wirkungen. In Form eines Brückenschlags zwischen Philosophie und Science-Fiction entwickelt dieses Buch die philosophischen Grundlagen eines Digitalen Humanismus, für den die Unterscheidung zwischen menschlichem Denken, Empfinden und Handeln einerseits und softwaregesteuerten, algorithmischen Prozessen andererseits zentral ist. Eine Alternative zur Silicon-Valley-Ideologie, für die künstliche Intelligenz zum Religionsersatz zu werden droht.

Unaufgeregter Realismus

Der verbreitete zeitgenössische Anti-Realismus in den Geistes-, Kultur- und Sozialwissenschaften, in Kulturinstitutionen, in den Feuilletons und den gebildeten Kreisen ist Ausdruck einer intellektuellen Krise. Der Realismus, für den Julian Nida-Rümelin plädiert, stellt sich gegen geistige Verwirrungen, die sich als Begleitphänomene dieser intellektuellen Krise zeigen.

Über Grenzen denken

Über zwei Milliarden Menschen leben weltweit in bitterster Armut, leiden unter Hoffnungslosigkeit, Hunger, Unterdrückung und Krieg. Über 65 Millionen von ihnen waren allein im letzten Jahr auf der Flucht, viele Menschen weltweit erhoffen sich ein besseres Leben in Europa oder Nordamerika. Hilfe tut also dringend not – aber sind offene Grenzen die richtige Antwort auf das Elend in der Welt?

Humanistische Reflexionen

Selbst wenn die Wirtschaftsweise einer Nation keinen Einfluss auf die Lebensbedingungen ferner Menschengruppen hätte – was heute wohl nur noch in den seltensten Fällen stimmt –, gibt es nicht nur die individuelle, sondern auch die politische und moralische Verpflichtung,  Menschen auf der Grundlage gleichen Respektes zu unterstützen, wenn sie zum Beispiel zu verhungern drohen.

Die Optimierungsfalle

Ist eine nachhaltige und menschengerechte Ökonomie bloße Utopie? Gibt es eine Alternative zum krisenanfälligen Finanzkapitalismus?

Julian Nida-Rümelin, einer der führenden Philosophen unserer Zeit, übt scharfsinnig und konstruktiv Kritik an unserem krankenden Wirtschaftssystem. Er vermittelt lebensnah und verständlich die philosophische Grundlage einer humanen Wirtschaft. Dabei entlarvt er die Irrationalität einer verantwortungslosen, rein auf Optimierung bedachten Wirtschaftsordnung.

Philosophie humaner Bildung

Die deutsche Bildungskrise ist nicht nur eine der Institutionen, sie ist primär eine der Ideen. Allerorten wird nur an den Symptomen herumgedoktert, mit den bekannten Folgen: Alle Beteiligten sind überfordert, die Lehrer, die Eltern, die Kinder sowieso, auch die Politiker. Der Kardinalfehler liegt darin, dass den aktuellen Bildungsreformen die kulturelle Leitidee fehlt. »Employability« heißt stattdessen das Gebot der Stunde. Aber eine Bildung, die den Menschen immer nur »fit für« etwas machen will, die nicht nach seinen Interessen und Talenten fragt, wird nicht einmal den erträumten Markterfolg bringen. »Philosophie einer humanen Bildung« gibt den Anstoß zu einer neuen gesellschaftlichen Verständigung darüber, was Bildung bedeutet: für uns, für unsere Zukunft, unser Bild vom Menschen.

Der Sokrates Club

Eine Orientierung für Eltern, Großeltern, Lehrerinnen und Lehrer, die mit Kindern philosophieren wollen Wie alle Eltern aufgeweckter Kinder wurden auch de Autoren immer wieder mit philosophischen Fragen konfrontiert, zum Beispiel: Was ist gerecht oder was heißt es, etwas zu wissen?

Risikoethik

Die rationale Bewältigung von Handlungssituationen mit unsicheren Konsequenzen ist ein in modernen Gesellschaften allgegenwärtiges Thema. Dieser Band entwickelt ausgehend von einer Kritik der vorherrschenden Paradigmen im Umgang mit Risiko eine Risikoethik, die auch Individualrechte und Gerechtigkeit berücksichtigt. Dies geschieht auf der Grundlage einer klaren Begriffsanalyse sowie im Rückgriff auf Erkenntnisse der modernen Entscheidungstheorie. Über eine vertragstheoretische Konkretisierung wird zudem die politische Relevanz dieser risikoethischen Konzeption erläutert.

Der Akademisierungswahn

Die deutsche Bildungspolitik ist auf dem Holzweg: Die berufliche Bildung wird vernachlässigt. Im Gegenzug wird die akademische Bildung immer beliebiger und flacher. Anerkennung und Respekt vor dem dualen Ausbildungssystem, um das Deutschland in der ganzen Welt beneidet wird, schwinden immer mehr. Mit klaren Worten und eindeutigen Fakten zeigt Julian Nida-Rümelin auf, wie gefährlich der aktuelle Akademisierungstrend ist, der am Ende sowohl die berufliche als auch die akademische Bildung beschädigen wird.

Kritik des Konsequentialismus

Vernünftigerweise tut man das, was die besten Folgen hat. Diese scheibar triviale richtige These ist falsch. Warum sie falsch ist, wird in diesem Buch gezeigt.

Trilogie über Rationalität, Freiheit und Verantwortung